He Moved Mountains For Me

IMG_0169August 5, the morning of my surgery, Spurgeon’s devotion said:

“We know that all things work together for good to them that love God.”

Upon some points a believer is absolutely sure. He knows, for instance, that God sits in the stern-sheets of the vessel when it rocks most. He believes that an invisible hand is always on the world’s tiller, and that wherever providence may drift, Jehovah steers it. That re-assuring knowledge prepares him for everything. He looks over the raging waters and sees the spirit of Jesus treading the billows, and he hears a voice saying, “It is I, be not afraid.” He knows too that God is always wise, and, knowing this, he is confident that there can be no accidents, no mistakes; that nothing can occur which ought not to arise. He can say, “If I should lose all I have, it is better that I should lose than have, if God so wills: the worst calamity is the wisest and the kindest thing that could befall to me if God ordains it.” “We know that all things work together for good to them that love God.” The Christian does not merely hold this as a theory, but he knows it as a matter of fact. Everything has worked for good as yet; the poisonous drugs mixed in fit proportions have worked the cure; the sharp cuts of the lancet have cleansed out the proud flesh and facilitated the healing. Every event as yet has worked out the most divinely blessed results; and so, believing that God rules all, that he governs wisely, that he brings good out of evil, the believer’s heart is assured, and he is enabled calmly to meet each trial as it comes. The believer can in the spirit of true resignation pray, “Send me what thou wilt, my God, so long as it comes from thee; never came there an ill portion from thy table to any of thy children.”

“Say not my soul, ‘From whence can God relieve my care?’
Remember that Omnipotence has servants everywhere.
His method is sublime, his heart profoundly kind,
God never is before his time, and never is behind.”

[bold emphases mine]

That invisible hand is with me. The sharp cuts of the lancet will soon cut out my cancer and He will facilitate healing. The Great Physician who healed my sin-sick soul is present with me now. These were my thoughts at 4:30am, the morning of my surgery.

7:30am – my surgeon approaches my bed and says, I’m so sorry, your surgery is cancelled. I looked at him and laughed, thinking, cute joke….but he was serious. There was an emergency case and my anesthesiologist was summoned to it. My doctor was furious. The surgical nurse was, too. In the hallway, there was a heated meeting of men and women in blue scrubs. The hospital bumped my surgery, and I was the only 8am surgery scheduled. How could they not have another anesthesiologist available? My doctor said he would never again use this particular hospital for his surgeries.

Tears flowed as I said, I can’t go back home! I want this out now! My doctor had compassion, and it looked real. He grabbed my hand.

I want to help you, he said.

But unless the surgery could start by 9am, it was impossible. The da Vinci robot was set up and ready for me in the OR. My surgeon had that room for 4 hours. Then he had other surgeries scheduled in other hospitals.

Just then, the surgical nurse said, wait a minute! She was the diplomat, negotiating for me. She ran off to talk to someone else.

Pacing figures walked passed my room in the hallway. The nurse returned to tell me that another anesthesiologist was on his way. At 8:45, I was whisked away to the OR.

Just in time.

My Lord moved mountains for me. Omnipotence has servants everywhere. He moved hearts that morning, for me.

The morning after surgery, my doctor came in to check on me. I said, Praise the Lord that this surgery is done!

He said, It took an act of God to get your surgery done.

Yes. I know.

 

 

3 thoughts on “He Moved Mountains For Me

Leave a Reply

