Healed by the Great Physician

O Lord my God, I cried out to You,
And You healed me. – Psalm 30:2

Sunset over Kourion coast
Sunset over Kourion coast. Mediterranean. Cyprus

The good news came after a very long wait. I am cancer-free! This whole trial has been an extreme test of patience and waiting on the Lord. From the drop of blood in April until the doctor’s call with my pathology report the evening of August 18th, it was a very. long. time. With the good report came refreshing weather, as if God lifted all of the heaviness of the air as well as the heaviness of my soul in one fell swoop.

Thy Will Be Done

For months, it wasn’t easy to pray thy will be done. I realized the Lord could continue to afflict me. But I prayed with this portion of scripture in mind:

Or what man is there among you who, if his son asks for bread, will give him a stone? 10 Or if he asks for a fish, will he give him a serpent? 11 If you then, being evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give good things to those who ask Him! Matt. 7:9-11

He is so loving and kind towards me. He answered my prayer and the prayers of my family, friends and church family.

Lymph nodes are clear. No further treatment needed. Praise the Lord!

My Date with da Vinci

Now I rejoice as I reminisce about my date with da Vinci. The date that almost wasn’t (click to read about that here).  I didn’t dare look at da Vinci. The pictures I’d seen of him online looked scary and intimidating. So when I was hauled to the OR, I looked at the ceiling, the big lights and the faces of people around me who were grabbing, poking and getting me ready for the Master to perform my surgery.

A little arm rest, one of them said as she bolted them down.

Arms stretched out and tied down, I was at the mercy of these medical professionals and one large robot. But my trust was in Jesus. I knew He was with me.

Jesus, Jesus, Jesus, I whispered.

I’m going to give you something to relax you, another said.

Over and out.

Next thing I knew was intense pain. I heard myself moaning.

Hang on, I’m adjusting your pain meds, one of them said.

Don’t rub your eyes! said another.

Joy Cometh in the Morning

It’s over! It’s done! I’m awake! Thank you, Jesus!

I was overwhelmed with joy.

Later that night, I thanked the Lord continually and relived the events of the day. In the OR, I was in an utterly vulnerable state: naked under my gown, on a tiny plank of a bed, arms pinned down, ready to be cut, blood would run out. It made me think of Jesus going to the cross for me. How they stripped Him. How he stretched out his hands on that cross, willingly, for me. How he would have intense pain inflicted upon Him, with the goal of killing Him. How he did not drink the sour wine mingled with gall, for He would not be tranquilized. He was not anesthetized. Jesus’ pain was fully felt.

He would not drink it, because he … would have nothing like an opiate to lessen his sense of pain, for he would die so as to feel himself die, because he had so much work to do, as our High Priest, in his suffering work. — Matthew Henry’s Commentary on Matt. 27:34

I welcomed the anesthesia as well as a nerve block for my pain. My pain was inflicted to remove cancer, to heal me. My Lord’s pain was inflicted upon Him to give me ultimate healing.

So when I woke up and saw the connect-the-dots wounds da Vinci designed on my belly, I thought also about His wounds. He was wounded for my transgressions. He was bruised for my iniquities.

That is the ultimate healing. And now this, too — he gave me physical healing.

The Great Physician, Master Surgeon, Has Healed Me

It wasn’t Master Leonardo da Vinci. It wasn’t the medical geniuses that invented this robot. It wasn’t Dr. David Moore. It was my Master, Jesus Christ, who performed all my surgery. As I read that very morning:

…the sharp cuts of the lancet have cleansed out the proud flesh and facilitated the healing. –C.H. Spurgeon

I previously posted how this affliction was a visitation from God (read that here). So I actually had a date with Jesus, not da Vinci. His abiding presence was with me, as He promised.

and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” Amen. – Matt. 28:20

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

 

 

 

One thought on “Healed by the Great Physician

Leave a Reply

