2017: A Year of Celebrations

It’s going to be a great year. A tremendous year. We have seen so many disasters in the past. We are going to have a great year. It’s gonna be huge.

It’s got nothing to do with the Trump presidency.

We are celebrating some 5 & 10s and one big 500 in 2017.

It’s a year of big anniversaries! In March, we will celebrate our dog Pignoli’s 10th birthday.

I can’t believe he was ever that small!

 

About two weeks after I relocated to Indy, I rescued this little yellow labrador just in time. He was a sickly pup when I bought him from Uncle Bill’s Pet Shop (of course I didn’t know this) and developed pneumonia right after I brought him home. It was Memorial Day weekend and I found myself running up to a Northside animal hospital where Pignoli was put under oxygen.

4
Pignoli’s first meatball. Doesn’t he look crazed?

People told me to prepare for the worst. I yelled at Uncle Bill’s manager and they told me to return him for a refund. How dare they! I was already in love with him. How could I possibly put him back into their hands and leave him to die? The Lord was good, and Pignoli came home, healed and ready to begin a very spunky puppyhood. He ate part of the linoleum in the sunroom, but I just painted that part with porch paint. He has been a joy in my life since May 2007. He was my ever loving companion during some very lonely years.

And that leads to another celebration. May 3, 2017 marks the tenth anniversary of my move into the Storybook House. What a day that was. I closed on my NY house on May 2, flew to Indy the next day to close on the Storybook House. After months of extreme anxiety, the Lord provided a smooth segue. God is so good.

My Prince (hubby Mike) did not arrive on his white horse until almost 5 years later, in February 2012. This year marks the 5 year anniversary of the day we met! In August, we’ll be married for 5 years, Lord willing.

So much for the personal history lesson. Let’s get to world history…better yet, church history.

This year marks the 500th Anniversary of the Reformation.

Five hundred years ago, on October 31, 1517, Martin Luther nailed his 95 theses to the castle door at Wittenberg. I am blessed to be a member of a Reformed congregation. Sadly, Lutheran churches have fled back to Rome. Many other Protestant churches are in apostasy. We need a Reformation revival. This will help: The Alliance of Confessing Evangelicals is hosting a conference called Reformation: Recovering the Essence of the Gospel. We need this badly. We need to redeem evangelicalism from the ravaging wolves (Osteens, Feminazi Charismaniacs, and the Word of Faith pack) in so-called American Evangelicalism, and especially reaffirm the tenets of the Reformed Christian faith.

Raise a glass with us! It’s a tremendous year! It’s gonna be

huge!

img_1609
Pignoli is huge. Happy birthday, big boy!
One thought on “2017: A Year of Celebrations

Leave a Reply

